Topic: Summing Specified rows in a report

Hello guys,

I work in the automotive industry and was trying to make a database to record and report the daily job performance of technicians and I came across a problem. I prepared the database without any coding knowledge so I need your help with this problem. the database is used to record the daily working activities of technicians with standardized operations each having its own standard time to perform. It was working perfectly when I suddenly found a problem with the exaggerated efficiency calculation on the report. Those came from standard times that are greater than 8hrs which could not be finished in a day. But my database's actual time can only calculate the actual time for 1 day only based on the inputs. I was trying to find a way to add the actual working time of technicians for each day which has the same Job numbers and operation codes and need your assistance on this. I've attached the google drive link to my database and thanks a lot.

shorturl.at/ijC48

2 (edited by derek 2021-09-11 00:18:33)

Re: Summing Specified rows in a report

Hi,
Thanks for attaching your project - it makes things a lot easier when trying to offer suggestions.
I think the best way around your issue would be to split the existing 'jobs_done_detail' table into two tables
1.  'jobs_done_header' (with fields of job_no, job_date, total_time)
2.  'jobs_done_detail' (with a relationship up to 'jobs_done_header and the remaining fields that are in 'jobs_done_detail').
This would allow you to have a job that spanned any number of days (and also would allow more than one technician to work on the same job at the same time (I don't know if that happens) and/or different technicians spanning different days).
The total time spent on a job('jobs_done_header') would then be the sum of all the AM and PM times for all the related 'jobs_done_detail' records.