1 (edited by jumper 2015-12-17 16:07:19)

Topic: Question about developing software. How do you decide what to program?

I hope this post will be excepted as a harmless question. It's something that I have thought about since I started coding software not for my job. How do you decide what software to write? One of the reasons I think about it a lot is I don't want to waste a lot of time writing software that no one wants.

In fact, I'm doing that right now. To me, there are two ways to go.... Do you write software for a large audience? Or do you write software that fills a need for a narrow specialized audience?

As an example, I'm writing software that will fly WAY under the radar. It's going to be for people who rescue and transport animals. My lady is someone that does these things and as far as I know, there is no software for their particular needs.

I think if you want to go after the large audience, you will be competing with companies who have many software developers. I think large companies don't go after small audiences because there's not enough ROI for them.

I'm curious to know what you're thought are on this...
thanks

Nothing inspires forgiveness quite like revenge.

Scott Adams

Re: Question about developing software. How do you decide what to program?

When I see the amazing amount of absolutely useless software available everywhere and the very silent precious ones you have been seeking for ages, I think there is no ROI to consider when developing a software.

If your software fills a need, it will target the required audience. At the moment, I "try" to develop some specialized tools to fill gaps that no other edito can fullfil. MVDB is an amazing tool which also fills a gap in the need of a bunch of people and might become famous with the time.

I take some proud in developing these useful tools even though they target a few people as

1) I learn a lot with the help of this community 

2) they simply work