Topic: Filter a table that has already been opened

Hello all,

I am new to MVD and this is my first project so please keep this simple. I need to demo this to the client in a week or two.

The application keeps a record of service jobs on electronic equipment. The item is booked in recording its model, fault, serial number etc etc. I have a table grid which shows the list of jobs and I use the new record action on a button to add a new record.

Next to the "Serial Number" edit box field on the booked job form I have a button with the caption "Check History" on it. This button uses a action to open another form which has a table grid and I have attempted to have a filter on the action form which limits records displayed to previously entered records with the same serial number as the new job booked in. This allows the user to see previous service history of an item arriving for servicing.

I am having loads of trouble making this work. Because the table is already opened to add the new record, is there a limitation that I cannot open the same table in another form at the same time.

I hope that makes some kind of sense.

Thanks in advance,
David

Re: Filter a table that has already been opened

Hello,

Please attach your project (zip file without exe and dll)

Dmitry.

Hi David, Dmitry,
Welcome to MVD - good choice!
There isn't any restriction on what you are trying to do and I'm sure Dmitry will be able to give you some neat alternative ways of achieving what you want.
But your scenario sounds a lot like something I've just finished.  So I've quickly hacked a copy of it and changed the labels so that it's easier for you to relate to.